Guide

Is my coin cell dead? Testing a CR2032 with a multimeter

A meter reading of 3 volts says the cell is not empty stock. It does not say how much is left, and here is why.

By CellChart editors·3 November 2026·4 min read


Set a multimeter to DC volts, touch the red probe to the flat positive face and the black probe to the negative side. Duracell's CR2032 datasheet lists 3.0 V open circuit for a fresh cell, and makers rate capacity down to 2.0 V. A normal reading proves little, though: lithium coin cells hold steady until nearly empty.

How do you test a CR2032 with a multimeter?

Any cheap digital meter will do. The whole job takes under a minute.

  1. Take the cell out of the device, so you measure the battery and nothing else.
  2. Turn the dial to DC voltage. On a manual ranging meter, pick the first range above 3 volts.
  3. Put the red probe on the positive side. That is the broad flat face marked +, and the metal can wraps around the edge, so the rim is positive too.
  4. Put the black probe in the middle of the smaller negative face. Keep it off the rim, or you are touching positive with both probes.
  5. Read the display. A minus sign only means the probes are swapped.

Never test a coin cell with the meter set to amps. In that mode the meter is close to a dead short, and putting it straight across the cell drains it fast.

What voltage should a new CR2032 read?

About 3 volts. The two datasheets below are the manufacturers' own, and they agree on the voltages while differing on capacity and drain. Panasonic's CR2032 sheet (dated February 2026) gives a nominal voltage and plots discharge. Duracell's CR2032 sheet (document CR2032PGPH0720) is the one that states an open circuit voltage.

FigurePanasonic CR2032Duracell CR2032
Nominal voltage3 VNot stated on this sheet
Open circuit voltageNot stated3.0 V at 20 °C
Cut-off voltage for rated capacity2.0 V (capacity chart)2.0 V
Test load15 kΩ (190 µA) discharge curve15 kΩ continuous
Rated capacity225 mAh245 mAh
Drain ratings0.2 mA continuous0.5 mA standard, 6 mA max continuous, 20 mA for 1 second pulses

Panasonic's 15 kΩ curve at room temperature starts a little above 3 volts. A cell can never show more voltage under load than at rest, so a fresh cell reading slightly over 3 V on the meter is normal. A brand new cell well short of 3 V deserves suspicion, and our CR2032 page lists the usual causes.

Why does a dead coin cell still read 3 volts?

Because lithium manganese dioxide cells hold a flat plateau. On Panasonic's 15 kΩ discharge chart the voltage stays close to 3 volts for most of the run, then falls away steeply near the end. Duracell's sheet describes the same thing in marketing terms: voltage that stays stable during most of the lifetime of the application. So a cell with most of its life left and one close to the end can look almost the same on a meter.

The second reason is load. A multimeter on the volts setting draws almost no current, so it sees the cell's resting voltage. Your device does not. Panasonic's chart of operating voltage against load resistance shows the voltage dropping as the load gets heavier, and dropping further in the cold. A cell near the end of its life can still rest at a healthy looking voltage, then sag under the current a remote or tracker pulls when it transmits. That gap is why a fob can fail while the cell "tests fine".

How do you load test a coin cell?

Measure it while it is doing work. Both datasheets rate capacity across a 15 kΩ resistor, which at 3 volts works out to roughly 0.2 mA. That is the light, steady drain of a clock or memory backup, so it says more about capacity than about pulse strength.

A simpler real world test is to measure the cell in the device while the device is running, if you can reach the contacts safely. Compare that number with the resting reading. A cell that holds its voltage under load is fine. One that drops sharply is close to the cliff, whatever it read at rest. If you cannot get probes in, the honest test is a known good cell: if a fresh one fixes the fault, the old one was done.

When is a CR2032 actually dead?

For the manufacturer, at 2.0 volts. That is the point where Panasonic and Duracell stop counting rated capacity. Your device may quit well before that, because its working minimum depends on its own circuit, and you will not find it on a battery datasheet. If the device is still misbehaving after a known good cell, the battery was never the problem.

A spent cell is not a harmless one. Tape it and recycle it, as our coin cell disposal guide explains, and keep it away from small children. Why that matters is covered in our button battery child safety guide.

testingvoltagecoin lithiumCR2032

Frequently asked questions

What voltage is a dead CR2032?
Panasonic and Duracell both rate CR2032 capacity down to a 2.0 volt cut-off, so by the datasheet the cell has delivered its rated capacity at that point. A device may stop working earlier, at a voltage set by its own circuit. If a fresh cell fixes the problem, treat the old one as dead.
Can a CR2032 read 3 volts and still be dead?
Yes. Lithium coin cells keep a flat voltage for most of their life, and a multimeter on the volts setting draws almost no current. A worn cell can rest near 3 volts yet sag when the device draws current to transmit or light up. Test it under load, or swap in a fresh cell.
What should a brand new CR2032 read on a multimeter?
About 3 volts or a little more. Duracell's datasheet gives an open circuit voltage of 3.0 V at 20 °C, and Panasonic's discharge curve at a 15 kΩ load starts slightly above 3 volts. A new cell reading well below 3 volts was probably stale or faulty stock and is worth returning.
Which side of a coin cell is positive?
The broad flat face marked +, which often carries the printed code. The metal can wraps around the edge, so the rim is positive too. The smaller face on the other side is negative. When testing, keep the black probe in the middle of that face and away from the rim.

Look up a battery

Keep reading